Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

American Foulbrood outbreak in my 2 day old hive

13K views 59 replies 21 participants last post by  sqkcrk 
#1 ·
Hello beesource mermbers, im a newbie from Prince George Va. I imported a Nuc from Flordia and unfortunatley it had a foulbrood outbreak and the state apiarist came to visit today and had me destroy the colony. Im really bummed out about it but maybe ill be able to find bees next year and try again:scratch:

#14 ·
This is a true story that was told to me last night. The family was dirt poor. she had built her bees up to the point that she was starting to show a profit. The state inspector had just retard, and a young inspector replaced him. On the first inspection from this young man who was straight out of college, he thought he was seeing American foulbrood in her hives. He did the tooth pick test, and made her burn all of her bees,and equipment. She was smart enough that she sent samples off to Auburn University. She didn't have foulbrood, and no bees, or equipment.

#16 ·
Um, not so fast.

I'm always a bit leery when the claims start flying without an opportunity for the supplier to state his side of the story, or before he has had an opportunity to set things right.

I've taken the liberty of sending the company a link to this thread, which might need to be in Consumer Reports.

Hives and More.com
1145 Sheffield Rd
St Johns, FL 32259
904 586 8687 / 866 399 0347

We're about 3 miles south of the Julington Creek Bridge just off State Rd 13. Your'e more than welcome to stop by to see us but please call first to make an appointment.

#22 ·