Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

quick/dirty brood frame manipulation to cut down Varroa??

4K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  Box 
#1 ·
I have posted (too much) about trying to get my hives broodless so there is nowhere for varroa to lay. I am still at a loss as to how long I can cage or in some other manner make my queens stop or cut way back on laying. Can I simply put her in the top deep with no comb for 2 weeks? Is there a way to manipulate the frames so the varroa have to scramble for available larvae of the appropriate age? It is too late in the season to do splits without a ton of feeding and I really have all the hives I want until next year.
Thanks for any suggestions.

#2 ·
Well, I am no expert on varroa control via broodlessness. I have not had good results.
My educated guess would be for until all things are capped and hatched. But the problem with that is, the varroa that is in the sealed brood is going to be ready when you release your queen. Not only that, you have set your hive back a few generations of up and coming workers. So, when the queen does start to lay again, your hive will be low on nurse bees and high on foragers. Low in number of nurse bees means two things
1. your up and coming larva will be fed not as propper since foragers will pick up some slack but not all.
2. In a few weeks you will have nurse bees who might be a bit weaker due to not enough food and protien, but you will also be short foragers since you cut out a few cycles of brood.

In our area, we have 4 months + of non brood rearing time, and yet it seems the varroa still hang on....just a thought

#3 ·