PDA

View Full Version : toilet wax rings in wax melter?

Hoxbar
07-09-2010, 06:42 PM
I just made my first solar wax melter. I'm also a plumber and use toilet wax rings, made from beeswax. Do you think it would be a very good idea to put used wax from a toilet wax seal in my wax melter. I would clean them up(no poop!)! LOL

StikyBoots
07-09-2010, 06:49 PM
I will never look at Burt's Bees Lip Balm the same. :ws

Hoxbar
07-09-2010, 07:21 PM
That's funny! Never thought about it like that.

http://www.beesource.com/forums/images/buttons/reply.gif (http://www.beesource.com/forums/newreply.php?do=newreply&noquote=1&p=559791)

BeeCurious
07-09-2010, 07:22 PM
There must be something besides beeswax in the toilet rings that makes crush/smash down the way they do.

They are far softer than pure beeswax.

I wouldn't want to think that my foundation contained "wax" toilet seals...

fish_stix
07-09-2010, 07:37 PM
Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrgggggggggghhhhh hhhhh!!!!

jmgi
07-09-2010, 07:52 PM
C'mon, you can't be that desperate for wax.:eek:

honeyman46408
07-09-2010, 08:33 PM
I never was and I was a Plumber for 36 years :p

Omie
07-09-2010, 09:22 PM
Using old toilet wax seals for making foundation?
That's disgusting, and could be bad for your bees!

Use them when making lip balm instead.

wdcrkapry205
07-09-2010, 09:34 PM
I just made my first solar wax melter. I'm also a plumber and use toilet wax rings, made from beeswax. Do you think it would be a very good idea to put used wax from a toilet wax seal in my wax melter. I would clean them up(no poop!)! LOL

I'm wondering what your honey house looks like....:eek:

CentralPAguy
07-09-2010, 09:48 PM

You certainly are thinking outside the box and environmentally friendly too, lol

A little too "green" for me. I don't think that I would advertise it as it probably would hurt your honey sales. Now, I have to remember not to buy used wax melters.....

Cooties.....

waynesgarden
07-09-2010, 10:11 PM
Compromise time.