PDA

View Full Version : My Hive STINKS!!!!

c10250
09-05-2009, 08:32 PM
. . . and that's good news, I guess. It's my first year, and the goldenrod is in full bloom. I easily have 200 bees coming and going per minute. The hive stinks like a gym locker so bad that my 10 year old has to hold his nose 6 feet away.

I plan on harvesting some. I'm assuming it won't smell that bad when harvested. Does anyone have any tips on harvesting goldenrod honey?

Ken

Beeslave
09-05-2009, 09:58 PM
Good news your bees are making honey. As soon as the bees have the moisture content down extract it. It will granulate fast so you won't want to take it off the hive and set it in a cool place for a week. I made that mistake last year. It could have been frost aster also, it was dark honey.

blueskybeesupply
09-05-2009, 10:34 PM
The stinky smell of money, er I mean honey . . .

Goldenrod. Pray the rains don't interrupt the flow.

bnatural
09-06-2009, 06:11 AM
Funny, but in all the years I've been doing this, I never thought the process of making any kind of honey made the hives smell funky. They always smell super sweet and like, well, honey. Is it my nose? Am I not sophisticated enough to appreciate the subtle nuances of different aroma notes from the various honeys?

I like my beers dark, my scotch single malt, my maple syrup dark amber, my coffee Brazilian strength, my chili with LOTS of cumin and my cigars maduro. Maybe that has something to do with it?

Bill

Hambone
09-06-2009, 11:54 AM
I like my beers dark, my scotch single malt, my maple syrup dark amber, my coffee Brazilian strength, my chili with LOTS of cumin and my cigars maduro. Maybe that has something to do with it?
Bill

Good taste! Expensive...but good. :thumbsup:

bnatural
09-06-2009, 02:11 PM
Good taste! Expensive...but good. :thumbsup:

Depends on where you source it.

Bill

Beeslave
09-06-2009, 09:21 PM
My bees are working frost aster and golden rod now and the only hives that smell like rotten socks have EFB