PDA

View Full Version : Groundhogs and Beehives

BuzzinBerries
06-17-2009, 07:22 PM
Will groundhogs damage beehives? I have been told many times that skunks will torment hives and eat bees and make the bees mean but I have never heard anyone say anything about groundhogs. This afternoon hubby watched a groundhog stick his nose in the entrance to one of our hives. He got a good laugh when the groundhog got stung a couple of times and quickly ran off into the woods. Do you think the critter learned his lesson or do you think he will come back? Should we trap/shoot him? What do you all think he was looking for? Could he have been after the sugar water in the entrance feeders? I can't believe I keep coming up with all of these questions. This site is great and as a newbie I certainly appreciate any and all responses I get. Thanks.

Countryboy
06-17-2009, 09:34 PM
Should we trap/shoot him?

YES!!!

Groundhogs are vegetarians usually. They eat grass, but have been known to eat the insulation from wires on tractors in barns stored overwinter. (I have no idea why they like electrical wiring insulation, but they have been known to eat it more than once.)

Around here, they are a major nuisance. They eat crops, dig holes in fields that tear up machinery or breaks horse's legs, dig holes under buildings.

Young ones aren't too bad to eat either.

I would suspect nothing more than idle curiousity looking into the hive. I've never heard of a groundhog eating insects or sugar water. I saw one with an apple in its mouth once though, so maybe they like sweet stuff.

Ravenseye
06-17-2009, 09:44 PM