PDA

View Full Version : how often should i feed my bee's?

valleykat
09-30-2008, 06:25 AM
im new to all this beekeeping:) i have one box. how often should i feed my bee's sugar water? once a week? orrrr?:scratch:

Ravenseye
09-30-2008, 06:34 AM
Tough question since we really don't know how much you're feeding them now or what you're using to give them feed. A basic rule of thumb is to feed them if they're taking it, regardless of the amount. That's the simple answer. Technically, they can plug up the colony with syrup by taking too much and leaving them with a shortage of space. BUT...bees tend to know what's best. Since this is your first year, I would feed them while they are taking it and stop when they do as well! If they use up your supply in three days, replenish at once. If they take two weeks, replenish when they've used it up. Go by their schedule, not yours.

riverrat
09-30-2008, 07:53 AM
A lot of when and how much to feed depends on what you are trying to achieve. In the spring I will feed 1:1 if I am trying to get the bees to build up and draw comb. I will feed as much as they will take. Being careful not to let them run out. I keep an eye on the brood nest to make sure it is not getting bound up. once the hive is heavy and they have drawn 2 deeps I turn them loose on there own with a honey super on top. In the fall I feed 2:1 since swarming is less of an issue I dont worry as much about the brood area getting bound up. I will feed them till they get up to a weight I am satisfied will get them thru winter. again in the spring I will feed light hives to get them up to weight before the spring flow.

Fishdude123
10-01-2008, 09:19 AM