PDA

View Full Version : Walt Wright's Nectar Management Ideas

NeilV
10-10-2007, 10:05 PM
Our bee club has a library, and I borrowed and am reading a copy of a publication by Walt Wright called Nectar Management: Principles and Practices. I had heard of this and thought that it had something to do with swarm prevention, which it does. (This is my first year and I have high hopes that my next problem will be swarm prevention issues instead of swarm catching to replenish the one hive I've got.)

The ideas presented are beyond my personal experience, but they seem to make sense. Have other people implemented his techniques, and what have the results been? Have any studies been done the have examined whether the ideas work?

Thanks, Ndvan

sc-bee
10-11-2007, 08:10 AM
Several people have tried this system on the board, but not sure how much of a fair shot it was given. The idea seems to be accepted better in warmer climate area. Allot of rumbling about using the concept up North (do a search on checker-boarding, Nectar management, and Walt Wright). Just the use of the name checker-boarding used synonymously with Nectar Management has caused disagreement of opinions:D. By the way the two are similar but not the same!!!

I tried it this year and was both pleased with honey production and swarm control. I used it on two hives and am not aware of a swarm if I had any (but I have only been beekeeping three years and may not have recognized the signs after the fact).

The biggest downside of using the system for a new beekeeper is having enough drawn comb to implement the system. With that said give it a try on at least a hive or two and compare it with your others.

WVbeekeeper
10-11-2007, 01:35 PM