PDA

View Full Version : 9 Frame Brood Chambers

dtwilliamson
07-16-2004, 05:59 AM
How many people are working only 9 frames in their brood chambers?

I was considering using only 9. Some say it is the prefered and others say it isn't necessary and you have less room for the queen lay.

What are the thoughts of the other more experienced beekeepers on this forum?

Thanks,

Dan

brian spilsbury
07-16-2004, 06:03 AM
My observation up here in the great white north is those that use single brood chambers for over wintering are usually using 10 frames, while those over wintering in doubles are going or at 9 frames.
I have no experience either way!

Michael Bush
07-16-2004, 06:13 AM
There seem to be a lot of people who do both. Personally I do the opposite. I like to shave a little off of the end bars and make them 1 1/4" (instead of 1 3/8") and do 11 frames in a 10 frame box. That gives me smaller cells, because the bees seem to build cell size partially based on the distance to the next comb, and it gives me another frame of brood. This is also the natural spacing of natural sized bees according to my observations and according to Huber's observations. I also space PermaComb at 11 frames in some of my hives. What I didn't like about 9 frames is a lot of in and out of the face of the comb. This makes it difficult when you rearrange the brood nest in any way because of protruding honey.

The proponents think it makes the brood nest less crowded and standardizes all of their boxes, if they use spacing frame rests.

bjerm2
07-16-2004, 07:17 AM
I use 3/4 suppers with 9 frames in them. I give the queen 3 of those boxes to lay in. If I use 10 I'm affraid that I might roll (kill) the queen. With 9 frames I feel that the chances of doing that is less. It also give the bees more cluster room.
Dan

swarm_trapper
07-16-2004, 08:10 AM
we use both we lik the 9 frame hives because it is a little easyer to get the frame out and to stick a queen cage in