PDA

View Full Version : How many hives can one person manage?

bluegrass
09-09-2006, 05:50 AM
I like to add hives and when ever I get the chance to devide a hive or capture a swarm, I do. I am just wondering how many hives one person can handle befor help is needed? I am hoping to be up around 100 plus in two or three years. Part of my problem is that I am in an urban area and as I set up new hives I have to find new areas to place them. We have plenty of farm land within a few miles of here, but I want my bees to take advantage of all the flowering trees and plants within the city limits.

Sundance
09-09-2006, 06:35 AM
The number tossed out there is one experienced
beekeeper can handle 1000 colonies. With help
on extraction of course. This number makes me
shake and quiver...... 110 have me hopping at
times.... but I am a rookie to be sure.

[ September 09, 2006, 08:36 AM: Message edited by: Sundance ]

magnet-man
09-09-2006, 07:04 AM
In an urban setting it depends upon how many hives you can have in one yard. In Tulsa the standard yard is limited to four hives. Twenty-five yards would be needed for one hundred hives. That is just too much travel time between yards. At least in Tulsa the honey is not of very good quality but is great for spring build up.

How many hives you can handle depends upon your age and health. There would be no way for me to manage one hundred hives without help.

[ September 09, 2006, 09:15 AM: Message edited by: magnet-man ]

Michael Bush
09-09-2006, 07:23 AM
A lot of it depends on your equipment, the distance to the yards, your management style and how much free time you have.

I work a lot less now with about 50 hives than I did with about 7.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beeslazy.htm

You also adjust some of the detail work you do with less hives. You take more approaches that are one time sure things and don't require a lot of babysitting over methods that are more time intensive.