PDA

View Full Version : Installing package bees?

chemistbert
03-24-2004, 02:30 PM
OK, I am new to beekeeping and have read my butt off and have a question. Do I want to stuff grass in the entrance to the hive after installing my bees. I am getting two different instructions from what I read. Alos any other tips would be welcome. I am using a SBB and a standard deep to keep them in. I have a miller feeder for feeding. I am getting two packages or regular old Italians.

Thanks,

Matt

BULLSEYE BILL
03-24-2004, 05:02 PM
>Do I want to stuff grass in the entrance to the hive after installing my bees.

Not necessary, but can't hurt either. If you are really worried, put the queen excluder under the brood box and above the SBB. If the queen can't get out the rest will stay for sure.

Don't leave the INCLUDER on for more than a week.

BjornBee
03-24-2004, 05:26 PM
sprinkle some sugar water over a couple of frames of foundation, and you could even lighter spray/mist the package (not queen cage) with water prior to installing. Any bees not dumped into the hive will find there way within 15-30 minutes. Initially if more loose bees are going in the entrance, than are coming out, you know its working. After this initial 15 minutes, than some bees will start making thier way out to orient themselves. If bees are not scenting the entrance or are piling out of the hive, something is wrong.

Not sure where all the information is coming about packages leaving and losing bees. Swarms are one thing, but I have never lost a package, used a queen excluder, or anything else, and this well over a couple hundred packages. I guess I should ask "Has anybody had problems with installing packages?"

Packaging a hive is exciting the first time and really basic. Very hard to screw up. Just don't take the wrong cork out.

Michael Bush
03-24-2004, 06:18 PM