PDA

View Full Version : BeeKeeping in the south

Toobock
05-08-2000, 03:27 PM
Every thing I read about, talks about beekeeping in the nouth. I live in the south. All the beekeepers around here use one brood super and then the honey suppers. They seem to work just fine. This is my first year and I want to do every thing right, so I read every thing I can find. what is the best way to do this? A) one brood super. B)Two brood supers. C) one brood super and one mid super for the brood. Or does it matter?
Thanks
Donna

NewBee
05-08-2000, 10:33 PM
Donna, I am somewhat new at beekeeping, but, you should go to your local library and read about beekeeping! Try "BEEKEEPING A Practical Guide" by Richard E. Bonny. It will give you answers to your questions. All the people I know use 2 Brood supers and as needed they add honey supers. The larger the colony the more honey will be produced. Up north the colonies winter-over and are stonger with 2 brood supers. If 1 brood super works and you manage the hive for swarming, etc. go for it! Some of the other people on this BB know a lot more than I do so maybe they will give you their opinion. Steve

The Honey House
05-10-2000, 08:50 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Toobock:
Every thing I read about, talks about beekeeping in the nouth. I live in the south. All the beekeepers around here use one brood super and then the honey suppers. They seem to work just fine. This is my first year and I want to do every thing right, so I read every thing I can find. what is the best way to do this? A) one brood super. B)Two brood supers. C) one brood super and one mid super for the brood. Or does it matter?
Thanks
Donna <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Donna,
Dr Keith Delaplane from GA has a book that primarily focuses on southern beekeeping.
I'm not sure of the name of the book (age creeping in here) but I'm sure you'd find something through a web search. He teaches at the University of GA.
Good Luck
Dave

Pollinator
05-11-2000, 08:09 AM