Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Photo of bearding with question

3K views 21 replies 13 participants last post by  Ron Young 
#1 ·
I assume this is pretty normal bearding for a 5:30 p.m. on a hot (93 degrees) and humid (rained on an off) day. If this continues should I just pull of of the top supers back a bit?

http://www.joshuacreekmusic.com/images/beard.jpg

Also I noted a drone or two about 7 feet away from the front of the hive being attacked by a couple of wasps. Anything to be too concerned about? This hive is very strong. I''m probably going to get two supers of honey it's first year, from a package started April 28th.

Quint

#5 ·
This is minimal bearding for that temperature compared to the wild colony I have in my barn wall, but I can do nothing for their ventilation situation. It's actually quite handy for me, as a total beginner. If my hive looks strange to me, I check out the wall to see if they are doing the same thing.

[ August 16, 2006, 12:06 PM: Message edited by: Hobie ]

#7 ·
I use a screened bottom board only but that's just me. I leave it open all year though I do protect the hive some from the wind in the Winter. I have never used a slatted rack but people do all the time. For me, I "need" a screened bottom board, a coupl of hive bodies with frames, an inner cover and an outer cover...that's it. Others "need" other stuff...

#8 ·
Ron, I use both SBBs and slatted racks. BaldyLocks, gotcha on the "need" thing. Initially, I thought slatted racks were a "want" and not a "need" so I put them on only 3 of my 7 hives. One season had me ordering 4 more slatted racks! Now for me they're in the "need" category.

#9 ·
Where in the world is Williston NC? And do you use both the SBB, and the Slatted Rack together? Does this in anyway effect the use of the SBB as a mite control? I would think that many of the mites that would otherwise fall out, would end up staying in the hive by the aid of the Slatted Rack.