PDA

View Full Version : swarm cell

GSM
06-23-2000, 03:18 PM
Yesterday while I was going through my hive I noticed an empty swarm cell on one of the bottom frames in the lower brood chamber. Does this mean that the old queen has been replaced? About four days ago I did notice an unusually large number of bees around the entrance to the hive and in the air above, but it did not seem to be a coordinated "swarm". This is my first year at this and I have never seen an actual swarm before. The hive seems to have just as many bees as it did two weeks ago. I did not see the queen during my inspection - but with so many bees it's not surprising. Should I be concerned with these two factors? And what exactly does a swarm look like? Thank you in advance for any comments.
Gary

Juandefuca
06-23-2000, 09:25 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by GSM:
Yesterday while I was going through my hive I noticed an empty swarm cell on one of the bottom frames in the lower brood chamber. Does this mean that the old queen has been replaced? About four days ago I did notice an unusually large number of bees around the entrance to the hive and in the air above, but it did not seem to be a coordinated "swarm". This is my first year at this and I have never seen an actual swarm before. The hive seems to have just as many bees as it did two weeks ago. I did not see the queen during my inspection - but with so many bees it's not surprising. Should I be concerned with these two factors? And what exactly does a swarm look like? Thank you in advance for any comments.
Gary<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Hi Gary
What you saw could have very well been a swarm gathering together to do the deed. All you can do if you see a bunch flying around is to follow it where it first settles down . Usually somewhere near the mother hive.
As soon as there are all clustered , collect them and Hive them into a new hive. It chould be somewhat distant from the old environment.