PDA

View Full Version : Winterize my hives

DFT
11-21-2001, 06:32 AM
This is my first year of beekeeping and I’m looking for opinions for winterizing my hives. I have 2 hives and I live in the foothills of North Carolina.

I have read articles about those who warp the hives in black paper and insulation but is this needed in my climate?

I have also read about adding grease patties to the hives to help with mite control. There isn’t enough room between the inner cover and the frames, where do I put the grease patties in the hive?

NewBee
11-23-2001, 09:56 AM
If it gets real cold or the snow gets deep for long periods of time in the "foot hills" of NC, you probably do need to wrap your hives. Most likely you do not need to wrap them. The grease patties sound like a good idea, they never hurt. Make sure your bees have enough stored food for winter. Lift the hives up slightly from the back to make sure you have approximately 60lbs. Part of your hive management may include reversing your hive bodies. Assuming you have two. The bees will work their way up slowly during the winter.

DFT
11-23-2001, 10:46 AM
We usually only get an inch or so of snow per year, and it only lasts for a day or two. It sounds like I won't need to wrap the hives.

When is the best time to reverse the hive bodies? Won't the hive get too chilled when I expose them to the air?

NewBee
11-24-2001, 08:58 PM
I agree, you probably do not need to wrap your hives. The grease patties get placed ontop of the frames, I put my patties in wax paper and lay the whole thing on top of frames where the queen has been the most active. This might mean in between the two hive bodies. You ask "When is the best time to reverse the hive bodies and can they get chilled from this?".....Yes, they can get chilled, but, do this only when the temp is above 55 to 60 degrees and be as fast as you can to close up again. Ideal would be sunny, no wind and warm....but, do the best you can without hurting yourself and the bees.